Friday night lines, pregame notes: Bemidji State vs. No. 16 Denver

Bemidji State warms up prior to Friday night's game against Denver at Magness Arena. Pioneer Photo/Eric Stromgren

Greetings from Denver.

Bemidji State enters tonight’s game against the No. 16 Pioneers winners of five in a row and have the fourth longest unbeaten streak in the country. The Beavers are 7-1-1 in the last nine games.

The only loss during that stretch came to the Pioneers, a 3-2 defeat in the December series opener at the Sanford Center when Denver rallied from a 2-1 deficit in the third period. BSU won the next night 2-1 to split the series and it was BSU’s first win against Denver in program history- a span that lasted nine games.

Some lineup notes for tonight:

The top two lines remain the same for the Beavers.

Freshman Andrew Walsh will start in goal for BSU tonight but head coach Tom Serratore made no commitment earlier this week for Saturday’s starter. Walsh was in goal for the BSU win against Denver. He is 6-2-1 this year with a .935 save percentage and a 1.87 goals against average.

Freshman Danny Mattson will be making his ninth appearance in the lineup this season at third line wing. He has three points (1 goal, 2 assists) in his last three games played. Sophomore Kyle Brodie, a Northglenn, Colo., native will be making his sixth appearance this season on the third defensive pairing with Sam Windle.

Denver is going with junior Adam Murray in goal tonight instead of Juho Olkinuora, who played in both games against the Beavers last month. Murray is 6-2-1 this season with .904 save percentage and 3.24 goals against average.

Out this weekend for Denver is goalie Sam Brittain (offseason knee surgery), defenseman David Makowski (undisclosed), Johnny Ryder (knee) and Beau Bennett (wrist surgery).

The loss of Makowski means the Pioneers are going with just two defensive pairings. Josiah Didier is the third skater.

Bemidji State
Kinne 9-McLeod 14-George 28
Illo 18-Walters 18-Boehm 4
MacQueen 17-Jubinville 12-Mattson 16
Orban 7-Firsher 13-Findlay 6

Areshenko 8-Wacker 25
Hunt 29-Prapavessis 22
Brodie 26-Windle 15

Walsh 30
Bakala 33

Loney 12-D. Shore 15-Salazar 18
Zucker 17-N. Shore 23-Knowlton 11
Tabrum 25-Ostrow 26-Jackson 8
Jacobosn 14-Dewhurst 37-Olszewski 27

Phillips 7-Mayfield 2
LaLeggia 21-Lee 5
(no skater)-Didier 4

Murray 33
Olkinuora 31
Hope 30

Follow Eric Stromgren on Twitter at @estromgren and on Facebook.